Volga Federal District

The Volga region (or Povolzye) is a strip along the course of the Volga river – the largest river in Europe. Officially, only the territories adjacent to the Volga can be called Povolzhye. However, Povolzhye is often considered to be the regions and republics of Russia located in the middle and lower courses: Astrakhan, Volgograd, Penza, Samara, Saratov and Ulyanovsk regions, and the republics of Tatarstan and Kalmykia.

Almost all regional and capital cities located on the Volga are major tourist destinations: Kostroma with its magnificent Ipatiev Monastery; the rapidly developing Nizhny Novgorod with its medieval Kremlin complex; Cheboksary, the capital of Chuvashia, with its monument and house-museum of the legendary V.I. Chapaev; ancient Kazan, the capital of the Tatarstan Republic; and, of course, the birthplace of V.I. Lenin – the city of Ulyanovsk, where the largest memorial and museum complex still operate. Tourists can also enjoy the picturesque embankments of Samara, Russia’s longest pedestrian street in Saratov, the well-preserved Astrakhan Kremlin or the awesome monument of the Motherland Calls in Volgograd.

Federal Subjects

  • Republic of Bashkortostan
  • Kirov Oblast
  • Mari El Republic
  • Republic of Mordovia
  • Nizhny Novgorod Oblast
  • Orenburg Oblast
  • Penza Oblast
  • Perm Krai
  • Samara Oblast
  • Saratov Oblast
  • Republic of Tatarstan
  • Udmurt Republic
  • Ulyanovsk Oblast
  • Chuvash Republic

Some regions are detailed below